top of page
Search
  • trishapatterson05

Week 5

Greetings!


While there are no new assignments for this week, I just completed a review of footnote and bibliography citations for a lengthy essay. Although I was unable to locate a few sources, the search became easier with progression. Nonetheless, the practice is much appreciated! For this particular submission, we will need to shorten the content for publication which may require the active participation of the author or other collaborators. Since this document was part of our first official assignment, I anticipate the next Zoom meeting with Dr. Farless and fellow intern, Abigail, to go over our edits and recommendations. In the meantime, I plan to review submissions and edits from previous contributors to gain other perspectives of the editing process.


One of the most challenging tasks of this week pertains to my inability to locate a few sources. However, the search itself is like a treasure hunt and sometimes fun, especially in terms of older documents (I did just say searching for sources is sometimes fun…Guess that’s why I am a history major!). The online journal entry makes for an easy find as it is important to include the URL (web address) or the DOI (Digital Object Identifier). The DOI provides direct access to the article. Although I encountered instances where the web address or DOI were not provided in the text, once I was able to establish a location for the source, the DOI was not hard to locate. In the effort to maintain accessibility, it is important to include the web addresses of any online source as websites can change or update. For the most part, the citation search was successful. With help from The Chicago Manual of Style Online and a copy of A Pocket Guide to Writing in History, Ninth Edition, by Mary Lynn Rampolla, I hope my findings and input for the assignment prove satisfactory.


I am looking forward to the meeting with Dr. Farless and Abigail to review and receive feedback. Additionally, I plan to discuss some of the issues I encountered regarding sources as well as grammar suggestions (I also struggle with grammar). Since each writer has their own unique style, I often hesitate to make suggestions as I do not want to change the essence of the essay. This experience has been insightful. Thankfully, we start with our own copy of a submission! 😊


Here’s to the next step of the journey…

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 13

Greetings and Happy Friday! Our team met today to review two papers, a 2021 submission as well as 2020 submission. Since a previous intern worked on submissions from last year, much of my focus pertai

Week 12

Greetings and Salutations! This week our team met to go over a couple papers. Our first task involved corrected edits. Although the author updated the paper mostly according to the suggestions of Dr.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page