top of page
Search
  • trishapatterson05

Week 4

Greetings and Salutations!


As another week comes to a close, allow me to reflect on some things I learned while reading through the work of my fellow undergraduates. Let me be the first to say that I share in the stress of deadlines and expectations as well as the feeling that my brain has turned to mush in the process (maybe the last part is just me). I will also admit that I am no champion of grammar and citations. When reading through an essay, my first impulse is to check for claims and evidence. I am not necessarily looking for the validity of a claim, but that the claim is backed by a reliable source. If there is a claim without evidence or elaboration, I will then highlight the statement and add a comment for review. Since Microsoft Word provides the options to comment and track changes on a document, this allows the author and editors to examine the feedback and reject or adjust accordingly. In another read through, I examine the sources provided in the footnotes as well as the bibliography.


The footnotes and bibliography should be cited according to The Chicago Manual of Style. For all students of history, you know that this is no small task and often confusing. Free online access to The Chicago Manual of Style is available through the University of Central Florida Library and proves to be a valuable resource. A Pocket Guide to Writing in History, Ninth Edition, by Mary Lynn Rampolla is another great resource. While there are certain criteria for font, italics, punctuation, etc., I initially check sources to ensure that they are valid. A few documents have not been successfully located, on my part of course. When this happens, I just highlight the footnote and make a comment. If Chicago standards are not met but there is ample information, the formatting process proceeds smoothly. I would like to mention the importance of the inclusion of specific page numbers in a footnote. I encountered some instances where page numbers were not mentioned, and I hope the author(s) can track the documentation. When tackling any size essay, it is vital to note the exact page for a quotation rather than the entire span of the text; this is beneficial to the author and the reader, especially if someone wants to investigate the research. Currently, most of my recommendations pertain to claims, evidence, and citations. There is still much more for me to learn on this journey… So, here’s to the process!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 13

Greetings and Happy Friday! Our team met today to review two papers, a 2021 submission as well as 2020 submission. Since a previous intern worked on submissions from last year, much of my focus pertai

Week 12

Greetings and Salutations! This week our team met to go over a couple papers. Our first task involved corrected edits. Although the author updated the paper mostly according to the suggestions of Dr.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page